To Apollo

Fair Apollo, may I borrow your golden lyre
So I might strum a heavenly chord full of fire
Else, let me pluck a laurel from your grove
Towards greatness, ever I strove

But alas my fingers are not nimble and quick
My wire sung words sting and stick
O Apollo were I as fair as the tree
Perhaps with second sight I could see

Fair Apollo lend me a voice as sweet and rich
A harpy in church, I rasp and –bitch
I’ll drown in myself if I not throw it out soon
I’m hopelessly blocked
And Half cocked at noon

Fair Apollo, may I borrow your golden lyre
So I might strum a heavenly chord full of fire
Else, take me under your bright wing
With your guidance, let this Philomel sing

3 thoughts on “To Apollo

Leave a Reply

