NaPoWriMo – Go On

Go, be at peace with yourself
We have traveled across these forgotten plains
But yet you have not begotten forgiveness
Not from me
Never from me
But from yourself
Many a mile we’ve covered together
But yet hidden from ourselves
I would not be that burden you’ve shackled to your heart
While you live with my legacy alone
My errors won the day for myself
And lead all astray but you
You who would trade a corporal body
For mine
You who would rather me a leper Lazarus
Than who I am
Which is gone
And I am yet here
As always to be your guiding star
Now go, be at peace with yourself

Leave a Reply

